Living with Bipolar Disorder: Psychosis and the Voices

Earlier this week (Monday & Tuesday), I have had two episodes of hearing the voices. Nothing sinister or anything like a command to do anything. Literally the situation was that I walked up to the Gardeners Arms about 1pm each day to me a friend.

I had my MP3 player (I know they went out of fashion years ago), and I just use the right earphone as if I put in my left ear I don’t hear hardly anything hence the hearing aid. So, I was beginning to hear chatter. Nothing clearly but it was like I was in a pub or restaurant or something like that and I could hear the conversations of the people around me. It doesn’t worry me, or scare me as I’ve said before I have just had these voices from years and years ago and I know they aren’t dangerous to me or sinister. So I even took my hearing aid out to see if they were coming through that, still hearing them. I got to the pub and then turned off MP3 player and then chatting with my friend and then it all stopped. I walked home afterwards though and then it started again. Today I collected my prescription from Mountcroft for extra Quetiapine and I met a mate in Thornton this morning and we walked up to the prom at Cleveleys and then to Fleetwood and I collected the script. No voices at all.

So now I’m on 750mg per day of Quetiapine! 250mg when I get up and 500mg before bed!

I’ve noticed that I think it is more prevalent when I was silent in my mind and the thoughts weren’t racing that it happens. Basically when I’m manic I have too much going on to hear the voices.

It’s crazy isn’t it that I have now experienced a new scenario. I would try to see if it would happen if I had both earphones in my ears, but as I said I cut the left earphone off as it was redundant. After spending a small fortune on earphones over the years I’m not spending any more money on another set!

I wish I could have a way to record my voices and then be able to put them together in a download or something like that so people can have a listen to my voices and then they can get a better understanding of what it is like to have mental illness?

Leave a comment